Skip links

MAP chosen to organize the 7th edition of the News Agencies World Congress (NAWC) in 2022

London- Morocco was chosen Monday in London by the members of the News Agency World Council to host the 7th edition of the News Agencies World Congress in 2022.

The Council members voted overwhelmingly in favor of the candidacy of the Moroccan News Agency (MAP), which was competing with Emirates News Agency (WAP) to host the event.

MAP’s bid focused on the right of Morocco and Africa to host this Congress, after six editions held in three continents: Europe (3 editions), Asia (2 times) and America (1 edition).

This success, the first of its kind for the African continent, is a recognition of the African leadership of the Moroccan News Agency and its role in the Atlantic Federation of African Press Agencies (FAAPA), since its creation in 2014 in Casablanca.

The choice of MAP is also a mark of confidence of the members of the News Agency World Council in the capacity of Morocco to ensure the success of the organization of international events.

Tourism in Morocco, the Kingdom’s legendary hospitality and its know-how in the organization of world events (Africities, COP22, UN Migration Summit…) are all factors that have played a major role in the vote for MAP.

On the professional side, the organization of this event in Morocco is likely to strengthen the constitutional democratic choices made by the Kingdom and will undoubtedly contribute to consolidate the achievements of the media sector.

The 2022 Congress, which will take place in the city of Marrakech, will be an opportunity to highlight the structural reforms undertaken by Morocco in the media sector as well as the various achievements made by MAP.

This event, which will bring together more than 200 personalities, including heads of press agencies and international experts in the media sector, will be an opportunity to discuss the news agencies’ situation and their development.

The six previous editions took place in Russia (2004), Spain (2007), Argentina (2009), Saudi Arabia (2012), Azerbaijan (2015) and Bulgaria (2019).

This site is registered on as a development site.